Tech Comm: Text vs Illustration — Visual Methods of Communicating Structure, Relationship, and Flow :: UXmatters

It’s true.

At my current job, I hardly ever write. I spend most of my days doing Swimlane diagrams. I personally think the things are useless. I am a writer, dammit! Let me make beautiful sentences about the Departmental Systems Requirements!

You know what? Everybody glazed over my on my detailed 8-page instruction. But, the one page swimlane diagram? They love it! (Well, they love it as much as anybody can for technical material.)

Anyways, point is, TechComm is all about … communication. As long as you can get your reader (looker?) engaged, excited, and understand the material, whatever you use, it’s all good.

Leave a Reply

